The Wait (2021) - Nollywire

The Wait

(2021)
Movie
Apr 30, 2021
Drama
Faith becomes a beacon for people struggling with family, career ambitions, romantic longings and various other issues.
Language(s): English
Directed by:   Yemi Morafa, Fiyin Gambo
Written by:   Tomi Adesina
The Wait (2021) - Nollywire

The Wait

(2021)
Movie
Apr 30, 2021
Drama
Faith becomes a beacon for people struggling with family, career ambitions, romantic longings and various other issues.
Language(s): English
Produced by:   Tolu ‘LordTanner’ Awobiyi, Yewande Zaccheus
Directed by:   Yemi Morafa, Fiyin Gambo
Written by:   Tomi Adesina
The Wait (2021) - Nollywire

The Wait

Movie
2021
Drama
Faith becomes a beacon for people struggling with family, career ambitions, romantic longings and various other issues.
Language(s): English
Produced by:   Tolu ‘LordTanner’ Awobiyi, Yewande Zaccheus
Directed by:   Yemi Morafa, Fiyin Gambo
Written by:   Tomi Adesina

Top Cast

Seasons and Episodes

No data was found
Share:

Where to Watch

Ibakatv - Discover Ibakatv Nollywood titles on Nollywire.
GOtv - Discover Gotv Nollywood titles on Nollywire
StarTimes - Discover StarTimes Nollywood titles on Nollywire
DStv - Discover DStv Nollywood titles on Nollywire
YouTube - Discover YouTube Nollywood titles on Nollywire
Irokotv - Discover Irokotv Nollywood titles on Nollywire
showmax - Discover showmax Nollywood titles on Nollywire
primevideo - Discover primevideo Nollywood titles on Nollywire
Netflix - Discover Netflix Nollywood titles on Nollywire

Review This Movie

Interviews & Exclusive Videos

Reviews for The Wait

6.8 out of 10 stars (based on 6 reviews)

Liked it

January 20, 2023

The Wait is a movie that takes us through the journey of Tosan, Nkechi and a group of other women as they struggle to have children. The film tells a story of faith, resilience and patience, and all these three virtues are well tied to the movie. The central theme of the movie is the waiting room, where a group of women who long to have children of their own come together to form support groups, listen to each other’s stories and discuss various aspects of pregnancies.

The waiting room is led by Dr Nara, who is also a waiter. She is waiting for someone to share her love with and finally get married to while facing pressure from her mother and friends, much like how her patients are also waiting for kids of their own. While our women are waiting, the movie takes us through their journeys, highlighting the things these women face. The depression that comes with it, the loneliness and sense of unfulfillment, and the backbites from people close to them.

One of the most striking aspects of the film is the contrast in how different women handle the wait. Tosan lacks faith and Nkechi is shown to be a consistent prayer warrior. This contrast highlights the different coping mechanisms that women use to deal with the emotional toll of waiting to have children.

The film’s slow pace can be tedious at times but ultimately leads to a satisfying conclusion. The slow pace is one of the things that makes the movie work so well, but it could have been bettered by reducing the runtime. This brings us to the character of Somto, a first-class architecture graduate. Somto’s search for a job is not vital to this story and could have easily been left out, reducing the runtime by at least 10 minutes if not more. While, he ended up not being entirely useless in the film, he was an unnecessary addition and could have been done without. The dance group and the thugs could have also been done without (basically almost anything centering Somto in the movie)

The movie also informs us about the multiple choices women have when choosing how they would like to have their children. It also highlights the ignorance amongst some men about reproductive health and pregnancies. The dialogue is emotional in some scenes and effectively conveys the pain our characters were going through during the wait. The movie takes us through the journey of how our main characters come to a decision on how they would like to have kids.

The Wait is a well-written movie that would have been bettered with better audio recordings and sound design, and steady camera work. The editing was okay as well, the cinematography wasn’t anything special and was good enough to tell the story and nothing more. But, despite its flaws, the movie is worth watching. It delves into an important topic of reproductive health and highlights the emotional journey that women go through while waiting to have children. The film’s portrayal of the different coping mechanisms used by women is particularly noteworthy. The Wait is a thought-provoking film that is sure to leave viewers with much to ponder about the struggles and joys of motherhood.

Avatar for '@afrowoodcinemas
'@afrowoodcinemas

This story was told with so much depth and it’s quite relatable to our daily lives.

January 17, 2023

‘The Wait’ is a beautiful movie! Great cast, amazing crew!! Scenes transitions were epic! Monologues and dialogues were beautifully delivered!! The depth at which this story was told gives me chills, I t’s a movie that gives hope. Truly, everyone is going through their fair share of life’s drama. We really don’t know what people are going through until we are told and we shouldn’t be priding in our problems by saying my problem is worse than yours. When we know people are going through a lot, we shouldn’t add to their wounds but be a source of healing. ‘The Wait’ is a must watch for everyone that’s expectant for a miracle, a big breakthrough. Though it may tarry but it’ll surely come to pass-Habakkuk 2:3

Avatar for Justin Ben
Justin Ben

The wait

January 16, 2023

It’s an okay watch overall, I did cry alot 😂😂 very emotional movie.

Avatar for Oyindamola
Oyindamola

The Wait: Details

and Box Office

₦9,271,106

Gross Box Office

Distributor: FilmOne Entertainment, Netflix
Opening: ₦3,160,601
Release Date: April 30, 2021
Genres: Drama
In Release: 4 weeks
Widest Release: 44 cinemas
Language: English
Country of Origin: Nigeria
Production: Eventful Nigeria, Lordtanner Studios
Produced by: Tolu ‘LordTanner’ Awobiyi, Yewande Zaccheus

Weekly Box Office

Date Week Weekly Gross
Apr 30, 2021 1 ₦5527902
May 7, 2021 2 ₦2568502
May 21, 2021 4 ₦913100

Rest of Cast & Crew

Rest of cast

Share:

Where to Watch

Ibakatv - Discover Ibakatv Nollywood titles on Nollywire.
GOtv - Discover Gotv Nollywood titles on Nollywire
StarTimes - Discover StarTimes Nollywood titles on Nollywire
DStv - Discover DStv Nollywood titles on Nollywire
YouTube - Discover YouTube Nollywood titles on Nollywire
Irokotv - Discover Irokotv Nollywood titles on Nollywire
showmax - Discover showmax Nollywood titles on Nollywire
primevideo - Discover primevideo Nollywood titles on Nollywire
Netflix - Discover Netflix Nollywood titles on Nollywire

Review This Movie